Help us protect Louisiana's children. Report Child Abuse & Neglect: 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437) toll-free, 24 hours a day, seven days a week
Attention SNAP Recipients: If you lost food purchased with SNAP benefits due to a power outage of at least 24 hours as a result of Hurricane Barry, you may be eligible for replacement SNAP benefits.To apply for replacement benefits, you must report the food loss verbally or in writing within 10 calendar days of the event AND return a signed SNAP 38 form within 10 days of reporting the loss. These replacement benefits are not automatic. You must apply.
Find a SNAP 38 form and more info on our website - http://www.dcfs.louisiana.gov/snapreplacementfaq, email LAHelpU.DCFS@la.gov or call (888) 524-3578, toll-free.
For June 2019
History was made today when @louisiana_gov John Bel Edwards signed Sen. Regina Barrow's bill extending the age of foster to 21. This will change lives!
Senate Bill 109 allows the Louisiana DCFS to provide intensive services to aid in youths' transition to adulthood. The legislation follows through on the recommendations of a legislative task force, which found that extending the age of care would help improve outcomes for foster youth.
#fostercare #fostermom #fosterparents #fostercareawareness #agingout
DID YOU KNOW? As long as a parent leaves their baby with a Safe Haven site employee and the baby shows no signs of abuse or neglect, the parent can walk away knowing the baby will be safe.
Leaving a baby unattended – on a doorstep or in a bathroom, for example – is illegal and won’t meet the criteria of Louisiana's Safe Haven law.
Find a Safe Haven site. It's Safe, it's legal, and it's anonymous. Site employees are trained to keep a newborn safe and keep everything confidential.